I WANT A PUPPY!!!

We had 2 dogs growing up: Migs and Pongo. Migs was ruthlessly poisoned by the UNfriendly neighborhood akyat-bahay gang and Pongo was given to the house next door prior to our move to Subic. By the time I was old enough to take responsibility of a pet, my Mom no longer wanted to have furry friends in the house. Jao and I tried and tried AND TRIED to ask for a dog (high maintenance), then a hamster (too smelly), then a turtle (bad luck), then a fish (boring) until we were finally left to just settle for each other as our “pet.”

You can leave me with a room full of children and not be driven insane, but I cannot, for the life of me, take care of a pet (I can’t even take care of a plant). 2 years ago, I decided it was time to do something about this so I got Basil and Cinnamon (our beloved hedgehogs) as a gift for Kilo. They’re pretty easy to take care of. All you have to do is change their shavings once every 2 weeks, feed them daily and take them out of their cages to play. They don’t need much of your time and will more often be out of your merry way as they are quiet, nocturnal creatures. I love them to bits, but they do have their limitations. #1 You cannot sleep with them else they be crushed, or you be pricked #2 They cannot run free around the house, probably never to be seen again and #3 Their cages are big and bulky which make it hard to transport during out of town trips and the like.

I still want a dog in addition to our wonderful family and I have been oggling at pet stores and the dogs of instagram in the hopes that I will one day, FINALLY, be a proud owner of a canine.

Today, Mech, my officemate and BFF 0.2 sent me a picture of what is probably the most adorable half boston terrier half shih tzu I have ever seen in my entire life. I’m still not sure if he is going to give it or sell it to me, or if I even have the chance to have this puppy at all.

The rest of our conversation was purely emotional torture. To make the long story short, I now have a deep deep deep longing for you, adorable little one.

12434468_10153857369339421_722159186_n

12431761_10153857313404421_1597861672_n

12459742_10153857433139421_437064213_n

If the pet Gods will allow it, I promise I will be a good mom!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

