Brain Training

Children don’t usually play with my phone because all the games I have are puzzles, word games and brain teasers. It’s pretentiously nerdy but since I have poor hand-eye coordination, I actually enjoy getting my brain fired up. However, like all games, these can become time-consuming and addicting. Thankfully, M’ Cel of Red Ribbon introduced mobile brain training to me and now I can learn and have fun on a daily basis at a regulated pace!

Brain training is made up of mental exercises that target underdeveloped skills. It’s actually been around for quite some time but thanks to technology, it’s also accessible at the tip of your fingers! I’m currently using two (2) free apps with in-app purchases, and so far I’m really liking how it works.

Peak is a “comprehensive collection of exercises designed to hone your memory, sharpen your problem-solving skills, enhance your mental agility, and more.” It has daily workouts that cover up to five areas of focus and only take about 10-15 minutes to complete. I personally like that each workout has a summary, and can be tracked overtime so you can monitor your progress. You can also compare scores with peak users within your age group to boost (or belittle, charot) your self-esteem. After 2 days of training, I am not surprised that I am overachieving in Language. Lelz. Pengeng mental agility pls.

Named as Apple’s app of the year in 2014, Elevate is “designed to improve focus, speaking abilities, processing speed, memory, math skills and more. Each person is provided with a personalized training program that adjusts over time to maximize results.” This app claims that the more you train, the more you’ll “improve critical cognitive skills that are proven to boost productivity, earning power, and self-confidence.” TARAY. The good thing about these apps is it also makes you aware of your areas for improvement. For instance, I’ve always thought of myself as a visual/auditory/kinesthetic (ngek, lahat pala) learner but as it turns out, I’m better at Math than listening! Akalain mo ‘yun?

But like I said, it has only been two days. There is still plenty of room to grow. Can’t wait to see how this unfolds!

Leave a Reply

